<div dir="ltr">Hi Ufuk,<div><br></div><div>Glad to hear that things are working for you and thanks for reporting back.</div><div><br></div><div>Cheers,</div><div>Andy</div></div><div class="gmail_extra"><br><div class="gmail_quote">On Wed, Aug 16, 2017 at 11:09 AM,  <span dir="ltr"><<a href="mailto:u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr" target="_blank">u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr</a>></span> wrote:<br><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex">Hi,<br>
<br>
I add print statement to python script and it shows that three input port<br>
is ok but one of them is empty. The new allinputsgridwriter.py that has<br>
automatic detection of input port fail in this case but if I use old one<br>
with manual configuration of the ports (there is no definition of empty<br>
port in this case) work fine. Anyway, the issue seems solved with external<br>
installation of protobuf library and I tested both gcc and intel<br>
compilers. It could be the version issue of the internal protobuf library<br>
in PV. So, you may consider to update it. Thanks to both of you for your<br>
help.<br>
<br>
Regards,<br>
<br>
--ufuk<br>
<div><div class="h5"><br>
> Hmm, can you check that you've set the vtkCPInputDataDescription grid<br>
> through the SetGrid() method? You can add in something like "print("input<br>
> is ", datadescription.<wbr>GetInputDescriptionByName(<<wbr>name>).GetGrid())" a<br>
> couple of places in your Python script to see if there is actually a grid<br>
> added there for that input.<br>
><br>
> Best,<br>
> Andy<br>
><br>
> On Tue, Aug 15, 2017 at 3:30 PM, <<a href="mailto:u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr">u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.<wbr>tr</a>> wrote:<br>
><br>
>> Without support of you and also Ben, i could not even reach to this<br>
>> point.<br>
>> Thanks again. At least, code runs now. I think that this is big<br>
>> improvement.<br>
>><br>
>> Anyway, both command is working as expected,<br>
>><br>
>> > mpirun -np 4 pvbatch <file><br>
>> > mpirun -np 4 pvbatch -sym <file><br>
>><br>
>> I also tested allinputsgridwriter_new.py with CFullExample (and also<br>
>> Fortran90FullExample) and it works without any problem. As I mentioned<br>
>> before, CFullExample was also working before upgrading protobuf (still,<br>
>> i<br>
>> don't know why). So, it is not a good way to find the source of the<br>
>> problem.<br>
>><br>
>> --ufuk<br>
>><br>
>><br>
>> > Hmm, how about making that Python code into a file and running it with<br>
>> > both:<br>
>> > mpirun -np 4 pvbatch <file><br>
>> > mpirun -np 4 pvbatch -sym <file><br>
>> ><br>
>> > Just to verify, the allinputsgridwriter.py didn't work with any of the<br>
>> > Catalyst examples (e.g. CFullExample), correct?<br>
>> ><br>
>> > I think this is going to be some issue where we continually bisect the<br>
>> > problem space so I appreciate your patience on this.<br>
>> ><br>
>> > Best,<br>
>> > Andy<br>
>> ><br>
>> > On Tue, Aug 15, 2017 at 2:49 PM, <<a href="mailto:u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr">u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.<wbr>tr</a>><br>
>> wrote:<br>
>> ><br>
>> >> Hi,<br>
>> >><br>
>> >> Yes. It works and produces same output.<br>
>> >><br>
>> >> --ufuk<br>
>> >><br>
>> >> > Hi Ufuk,<br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> > It looks like the script line that is not working properly is:<br>
>> >> >         grid =<br>
>> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> > grid is set to None here for your build. Trying something simpler,<br>
>> in<br>
>> >> > pvpython can you try the following and let us know if it works:<br>
>> >> > =============<br>
>> >> > from paraview.simple import *<br>
>> >> > a = Wavelet()<br>
>> >> > a.UpdatePipeline()<br>
>> >> > b = a.GetClientSideObject()<br>
>> >> > c = b.GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> > print c<br>
>> >> > =============<br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> > It should give output like the following if it works:<br>
>> >> > vtkImageData (0x4586a00)<br>
>> >> >   Debug: Off<br>
>> >> >   Modified Time: 204809<br>
>> >> >   Reference Count: 2<br>
>> >> >   Registered Events: (none)<br>
>> >> >   Information: 0x4586450<br>
>> >> >   Data Released: False<br>
>> >> >   Global Release Data: Off<br>
>> >> >   UpdateTime: 204810<br>
>> >> >   Field Data:<br>
>> >> >     Debug: Off<br>
>> >> >     Modified Time: 204775<br>
>> >> >     Reference Count: 1<br>
>> >> >     Registered Events: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Arrays: 0<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Components: 0<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Tuples: 0<br>
>> >> >   Number Of Points: 9261<br>
>> >> >   Number Of Cells: 8000<br>
>> >> >   Cell Data:<br>
>> >> >     Debug: Off<br>
>> >> >     Modified Time: 204783<br>
>> >> >     Reference Count: 1<br>
>> >> >     Registered Events:<br>
>> >> >       Registered Observers:<br>
>> >> >         vtkObserver (0x4586550)<br>
>> >> >           Event: 33<br>
>> >> >           EventName: ModifiedEvent<br>
>> >> >           Command: 0x45864a0<br>
>> >> >           Priority: 0<br>
>> >> >           Tag: 1<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Arrays: 0<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Components: 0<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Tuples: 0<br>
>> >> >     Copy Tuple Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Interpolate Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Pass Through Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Scalars: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Vectors: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Normals: (none)<br>
>> >> >     TCoords: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Tensors: (none)<br>
>> >> >     GlobalIds: (none)<br>
>> >> >     PedigreeIds: (none)<br>
>> >> >     EdgeFlag: (none)<br>
>> >> >   Point Data:<br>
>> >> >     Debug: Off<br>
>> >> >     Modified Time: 204809<br>
>> >> >     Reference Count: 1<br>
>> >> >     Registered Events:<br>
>> >> >       Registered Observers:<br>
>> >> >         vtkObserver (0x45864f0)<br>
>> >> >           Event: 33<br>
>> >> >           EventName: ModifiedEvent<br>
>> >> >           Command: 0x45864a0<br>
>> >> >           Priority: 0<br>
>> >> >           Tag: 1<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Arrays: 1<br>
>> >> >     Array 0 name = RTData<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Components: 1<br>
>> >> >     Number Of Tuples: 9261<br>
>> >> >     Copy Tuple Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Interpolate Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Pass Through Flags: ( 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 )<br>
>> >> >     Scalars:<br>
>> >> >       Debug: Off<br>
>> >> >       Modified Time: 204809<br>
>> >> >       Reference Count: 2<br>
>> >> >       Registered Events: (none)<br>
>> >> >       Name: RTData<br>
>> >> >       Data type: float<br>
>> >> >       Size: 9261<br>
>> >> >       MaxId: 9260<br>
>> >> >       NumberOfComponents: 1<br>
>> >> >       Information: 0<br>
>> >> >       Name: RTData<br>
>> >> >       Number Of Components: 1<br>
>> >> >       Number Of Tuples: 9261<br>
>> >> >       Size: 9261<br>
>> >> >       MaxId: 9260<br>
>> >> >       LookupTable: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Vectors: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Normals: (none)<br>
>> >> >     TCoords: (none)<br>
>> >> >     Tensors: (none)<br>
>> >> >     GlobalIds: (none)<br>
>> >> >     PedigreeIds: (none)<br>
>> >> >     EdgeFlag: (none)<br>
>> >> >   Bounds:<br>
>> >> >     Xmin,Xmax: (-10, 10)<br>
>> >> >     Ymin,Ymax: (-10, 10)<br>
>> >> >     Zmin,Zmax: (-10, 10)<br>
>> >> >   Compute Time: 204875<br>
>> >> >   Spacing: (1, 1, 1)<br>
>> >> >   Origin: (0, 0, 0)<br>
>> >> >   Dimensions: (21, 21, 21)<br>
>> >> >   Increments: (0, 0, 0)<br>
>> >> >   Extent: (-10, 10, -10, 10, -10, 10)<br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> > On Tue, Aug 15, 2017 at 2:27 PM, <<a href="mailto:u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr">u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.<wbr>tr</a>><br>
>> >> wrote:<br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >> >> Hi Andy,<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >> Thanks for your help and the script. Actually, I was adding input<br>
>> >> names<br>
>> >> >> to<br>
>> >> >> the script by hand. Anyway, I tested your script and it gives<br>
>> similar<br>
>> >> >> error as follows,<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >>   File<br>
>> >> >> "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<br>
>> >> >> egl/lib/site-packages/<wbr>paraview/coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >>     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >>     grid =<br>
>> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >>   File<br>
>> >> >> "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<br>
>> >> >> egl/lib/site-packages/<wbr>paraview/coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >>     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >>     grid =<br>
>> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >>   File<br>
>> >> >> "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<br>
>> >> >> egl/lib/site-packages/<wbr>paraview/coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >>     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >> I'll tested whole environment once again with Intel compiler to<br>
>> see<br>
>> >> it<br>
>> >> >> helps or not. Let me know if you have any other idea.<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >> Regards,<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >> --ufuk<br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >> > Hi Ufuk,<br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> > For the allinputsgridwriter.py you currently need to manually<br>
>> add<br>
>> >> in<br>
>> >> >> the<br>
>> >> >> > inputs yourself (i.e. replace the "namedinputs = ['input']" line<br>
>> >> with<br>
>> >> >> the<br>
>> >> >> > name of your inputs. That has caught me in the past as well so I<br>
>> >> >> decided<br>
>> >> >> > to<br>
>> >> >> > fix that. Attached is my new version of that script where it<br>
>> >> doesn't<br>
>> >> >> > require you to specify the input names in case you want to try<br>
>> this<br>
>> >> >> new<br>
>> >> >> > one<br>
>> >> >> > instead. If you do, please let us know if that solves your<br>
>> problem<br>
>> >> or<br>
>> >> >> not.<br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> > Best,<br>
>> >> >> > Andy<br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> > On Tue, Aug 15, 2017 at 12:40 PM, Ben Boeckel<br>
>> >> >> <<a href="mailto:ben.boeckel@kitware.com">ben.boeckel@kitware.com</a>><br>
>> >> >> > wrote:<br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> >> On Tue, Aug 15, 2017 at 17:59:47 +0300,<br>
>> >> >> <a href="mailto:u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.tr">u.utku.turuncoglu@be.itu.edu.<wbr>tr</a><br>
>> >> >> >> wrote:<br>
>> >> >> >> > I solved the problem and i am able to run the simulation code<br>
>> >> with<br>
>> >> >> >> > Catalyst support by installing PV (5.4.0 rc4 and 5.3.0) with<br>
>> >> newer<br>
>> >> >> >> version<br>
>> >> >> >> > of protobuf library (3.3.0) and compiling the model code with<br>
>> >> this<br>
>> >> >> >> version<br>
>> >> >> >> > of PV (using gcc).<br>
>> >> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >> >> > Now, the problem is that the code gives following warnings<br>
>> and<br>
>> >> do<br>
>> >> >> >> nothing<br>
>> >> >> >> > with standard allinputsgridwriter.py script. Do you think<br>
>> that<br>
>> >> it<br>
>> >> >> is<br>
>> >> >> >> > related with protobuf library. The same setup is working<br>
>> without<br>
>> >> >> any<br>
>> >> >> >> > problem in an other system using Intel compiler.<br>
>> >> >> >><br>
>> >> >> >> It'd be better to try with one MPI process rather<br>
</div></div>>> >> thanâ€<wbr>¦I count<br>
<div class="HOEnZb"><div class="h5">>> >> >> 10 to<br>
>> >> >> >> get<br>
>> >> >> >> the error? Not sure what's up though, Andy?<br>
>> >> >> >><br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> >     grid =<br>
>> >> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >> >> >     grid =<br>
>> >> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> >   File<br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> >   File<br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> >     grid =<br>
>> >> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >> >> >   File<br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> >     grid =<br>
>> >> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> >   File<br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> > [PERFLOG] :: COPROC          2     0.01404021SEC.<br>
>> >> >> >> >  Running COP Component: 2005-08-27T00:12:00 --><br>
>> >> 2005-08-27T00:18:00<br>
>> >> >> >> Time<br>
>> >> >> >> > Step:     2 [         720.00]<br>
>> >> >> >> > ATM-TO-COP: redist mask [CROSS] to mask [CROSS]<br>
>> >> >> >> > ATM-TO-COP: redist topo [CROSS] to topo [CROSS]<br>
>> >> >> >> > AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'IsA'<br>
>> >> >> >> >     grid =<br>
>> >> >> adaptorinput.<wbr>GetClientSideObject().<wbr>GetOutputDataObject(0)<br>
>> >> >> >> >   File<br>
>> >> >> >> > "/home/ext-dell-guest1/rds/<wbr>hpc-work/progs/paraview-5.3.0/<wbr>egl<br>
>> >> >> >> /lib/site-packages/paraview/<wbr>coprocessing.py",<br>
>> >> >> >> > line 305, in CreateProducer<br>
>> >> >> >> >     if grid.IsA("vtkImageData") == True or \<br>
>> >> >> >><br>
>> >> >> >> --Ben<br>
>> >> >> >><br>
>> >> >> ><br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> >><br>
>> >> ><br>
>> >><br>
>> >><br>
>> >><br>
>> ><br>
>><br>
>><br>
><br>
<br>
</div></div></blockquote></div><br></div>